Connecticut's First Bail Bonds Recovery Coaches
Your Complete Guide to Assault Bail Bonds in Connecticut
Getting arrested for assault in Connecticut marks the start of a lengthy legal process. You want to get out of jail as quickly as possible and prepare for your court date. That’s why it’s critical to understand how bail bonds work in the state.
Whether you’re learning about bail bonds or need to get a loved one out of jail now, don’t miss these crucial facts about assault bail bonds in Connecticut.
Types of Assault in Connecticut
There are three primary categories of criminal assault in the state. Charges fall under first-degree, second-degree, or third-degree assault.
First-degree is the most serious assault charge in Connecticut. It’s considered a class-B felony in the state. If convicted, you could face a $15,000 fine to 20 years in state prison.
You’re more likely to be charged with first-degree assault if you intended serious harm. Premeditated assault often falls under first-degree. Using a gun is also grounds for a first degree assault charge.
Second-degree assault is still serious but less severe than first-degree assault. If you used any weapon besides a gun, that’s grounds for a second-degree charge. Drugging someone will also land you with a second-degree assault charge.
The last assault category is third-degree assault. Even if you didn’t intend to cause serious harm, you could still be charged with third-degree assault. If convicted, you may have to pay $1,000 to the state or spend 12 months in prison.
Getting Arrested for Assault in Connected
There are two ways to get arrested for assault in Connecticut. An alleged victim can file a police report, and the police will issue a warrant for your arrest. The other way is an on-site arrest when the alleged assault occurs.
Remember, you have the right to an attorney. You must answer identification questions, but you’re not mandated to answer any questions about the alleged assault. Wait for an attorney before going into details.
Next is the booking process. After taking your photo and fingerprints, the booking officer will set your bail amount. The judge on your arrest warrant may also set the bail amount.
Bail amounts are determined by many of factors, including the severity of the assault charge. If you can’t afford to pay the entire bail amount, you can use a bail bond company to get you out of jail.
To use an assault bail bond in Connecticut, you’ll be charged 7% on bonds that exceed $5,000. Bonds that are less than $5,000 will be charged a 10% fee.
Your bail bond agent will cover your fees quickly to get you out of jail fast. For your convenience, you can pay off your fees through an installment plan.
Be Prepared If You’re Charged with Assault
It’s crucial to pay your bail quickly so you can move on to the next step in the legal process. Know that bail bonds are available if you or a loved one is ever arrested for assault in Connecticut.
Do you need more information on assault bail bonds right now? Call us now, so we can connect you with an agent who can help you right away.